DSI 为领先的连锁百货公司建造井然有序的配送中心

该第三方物流提供商求助 W&H Systems 和Intelligrated,以提高国内最大的百货公司之一的物料搬运速度和效率

请注意: Intelligrated 于 2009 年 6 月收购了 FKI Logistex® 整个南美和北美的业务。

在 2005 年夏天,Jeffery Wolpov 发现了一个机会。 Distribution Solutions, Inc. 是他的第三方物流 (3PL) 公司。 (DSI;于 2008 年被 Port Logistics Group 收购)和美国一家领先的连锁百货公司商谈有关其新泽西州纽瓦克进口设施的货箱处理事宜。

之前,一家大型物流公司替 3PL 处理了连锁商店的货物集装箱任务,当时这些货箱途经大西洋并在卸货后配送到全国各地的零售店。 但是,基本靠人工完成的拣选、履行和装运系统使得该流程效率低下而且代价不菲,对于所有参与方都是一个重担。

Wolpov 和 DSI 团队在短期内接管该设施的运营,并开始进行改进。 Wolpov 知道,要搬运连锁商店所需的大量货物,他们需要实现自动化。 DSI 向物料搬运集成商 W&H Systems, Inc. 寻求帮助,以对陈旧的配送中心进行彻底翻修,并安装一个高速分拣系统。

“作为 3PL,我们需要充足的货量或大合同才能为自动化投资提供成本,”Wolpov 解释道。 连锁百货公司,DSI 精心准备建造一个现代化的配送中心,以处理新业务并迎接未来的更多合同。

W&H Systems 和 Intelligrated 提供一个自动化解决方案

W&H Systems 总裁 Don Betman 和他的团队收集数据,提出了一个五年计划并开始设计,但是它们在途中遇到了一些需要克服的障碍。 必须搬走人工设备,配送中心必须重新分配给不同建筑设施以容纳新机器。 另外,该团队需要获得纽瓦克市的许可。

由于面临接收大量商品的压力,该连锁商店需要确保新的自动化配送中心能够快速投入使用。 通过与供应商 Intelligrated®(以前称 FKI Logistex®)合作,W&H 让该连锁商店和 DSI 高枕无忧。整个任务非常轻松,最多需要 12 个月的规划、设计和安装,但 W&H 和 Intelligrated 仅在短短五个月内就实现了这一目标。

“我们快速完成了任务,我想该连锁百货公司甚至都没有决定好将哪些产品运到东海岸和西海岸,第一批纸箱就已经经过系统的仔细检查,”Betman 说。 该项目的进展很快,在预算范围内提前完成,这超出了我们的预期。

“包括 DSI、W&H 和 Intelligrated 人员的团队密切合作,该项目才得以按时交工,”Betman 补充说。 “Intelligrated 所做的最重要的一件事是,在一年中 Intelligrated 和 W&H 都非常繁忙的时间里保证我们的生产周期。 它们勇于承担责任,超越自我。”

在快速实施后,最终产生了一个可持续改进配送运营的系统。 “该系统的可靠性确实超出了我们的预期,”Wolpov 说。 “合适的规划、设计、构造和维护相结合,打造了一个极其可靠的解决方案,将停机时间缩短到不到 1%。”

高速分拣系统提供的灵活性可实现未来增长

在 DSI 的新设施中,越库系统用于将集装箱中的纸箱和挂衣箱 (GOH)直接平装到纸箱中 — 以及其他增值服务商品 — 并准备直接运往各零售店。 该系统还包括为补货流程进行波次规划满箱和破损包装拣选,在此流程中,商品可存放在仓库中并在需要时发往零售店。

DSI 的新设施采用 W&H Systems 提供的独特的 RSU™ 倾斜式托盘分拣机,以及Intelligrated 的高速滑靴式分拣机,后者可拣选商品以便直接给发往特定零售店配送中心的货车装货。

“我们的高速滑靴式分拣机的一个好处在于,它们可以无缝地与其他高速物料搬运设备集成,”Intelligrated 集成商销售客户经理 Steve Maisch 说。 “它们与 W&H Systems 的产品兼容,这意味着我们能够在很短的时间里将此项目投入运行,并将商品从装运集装箱快速高效地从运到商店货架。”

当 DSI 的业务量增加时,它能够再添加最多六个收货口和 23 个装货口,从而提高了产量。 W&H 分拣机旨在将连锁店的产品搬运到分拣机的一侧,将其他产品搬运到另一侧,以适应未来的增长。

越库流程

配送中心收到准备运往百货店的包装好的未拆箱产品,将其直接从进口集装箱卸下,装到动力伸缩式输送机上。 该输送机可延伸至进口集装箱以加快纸箱卸货速度。 有六个越库入站收货线。 每个纸箱都要进行扫码并由采购订单和 SKU 条形码识别。 这些条形码中的数据用于打印和应用新的出货标签,以便 DSI 系统将用于分拣处理。 这些纸箱随后运到出站系统并直接分拣到其相应的目的地。

如果纸箱中的货物与连锁百货公司的内容不符,必须对其进行重新包装。 这些纸箱随后转到一个特殊区域,在这里打开每个纸箱并按照百货店的要求重新包装。 重新包装好的纸箱放在成品输送机上并运到出站系统。

挂衣箱 (GOH) 卸到两个收货口,并暂存在拖车上以便包成纸箱。 这些服饰按照连锁百货公司的规格(样式、颜色、大小和质量)包装到纸箱中。 给未拆箱贴上出货标签后,将其推放到成品输送机上,然后它们经过半自动封口机,最终运输到出站系统。

补货流程

将存储在配送中心并作为独立单位装运的单件拣选商品将根据 SKU 进行收货、卸货和堆垛过程。 按百货店和纸箱为此商品生成订单。 139 个订单箱分为一组,对该组/波次的物品执行批量拣货。

在每个波次开始,带有库存订单条形码的纸箱将放在 RSU™ 分拣机的分拣位置的拆封台上。 手持式短程射频扫描器用于扫描各个纸箱条形码并将其分配给 RSU™ 分拣位置编码条形码。 波次要求从主机下载到分拣机控制系统,然后便可开始分拣作业。

W&H Systems 研制的 RSU™ 分拣机包括多个在封闭轨道输送机上传输的倾斜运输盘。 DSI 系统配置为包含 965 个托盘的单级系统。 该分拣机以每分钟 120 英尺的速度运行,这意味着两个感应区中的一个每分钟收到大约 60 个托盘。 该分拣机的每一端有三个手动感应区。 这些托盘以 5 度角提供给产品感应器,以便于将物品放在分拣机托盘上。 该分拣机在全部利用所有托盘时的最大产量是每小时 7,200 件。

在装载物品时条形码朝上,或朝向托盘,并接受悬吊式摄影机的扫描。 产品条形码中包含的数据将传输至分拣机控制系统并进行识别。 随后将其与之前下载的波次信息进行对照,并指定一个特定的分拣位置。

运输盘到达相应的卸载站后,由 W&H 控制系统触发分流机制,以便释放 RSU™ 运输盘的下边缘。 在重力的作用下将产品从倾斜托盘轻缓地滑到斜槽中并堆积在这里。

RSU™ 分拣机的每侧总共有 142 个分拣位置: 139 个订单位置;1 个用于无法识别条形码的物品;一个用于不可识别的物品(这些物品的条形码可以识别但没有要求);一个问题位置。

操作员从挑选各件物品并将其包在拆封台上的纸箱中。 纸箱装满或分波完成后,操作员将纸箱推到分拣机下的成品输送机上。 这些纸箱随后运输到堆积输送机上以便提供给胶带封装机。 胶带封装机随后将这些纸箱移到出站系统。

未拆箱拣选

未拆箱存放在配送中心,在订单需要时进行拣选。 将未拆箱进行堆垛,随后放到暂存区。 在这里给其贴上标签并放到成品输送机,然后运输到出站系统。

出站“越库”系统

纸箱通过 Intelligrated 的高速合并器并成一条线。 合并器直接给装运分拣机进料。 Intelligrated 高速滑靴式分拣机将纸箱分流到 23 条用于堆积纸箱的倾斜重力输送线上,以便继续处理或装运。 此高速分拣机轻缓地将纸箱定向到其适当的装运线,每小时产量高达 6,000 箱。

在这 23 条输送线中,有 20 条用于直接给开往特定仓库配送中心的货车装货,1 条用于将纸箱运到重新包装区,1 条进入搁置区(这里的纸箱是为其他配送中心保留的,还没有积极装载),1 条由于无法识别条形码而进入非读/问题区。 如果纸箱的目标线已满,可从分拣机的末端离开,并通过再循环回到分拣机感应区,进行另一次分流尝试。

实现的成果

DSI 的新配送中心通过改善时间管理、降低劳动力和总体成本提高了效率。 自该设施投入运营后,Port Logistics Group 实现了以下成果:

  • 生产数字突破记录,零次加班
  • 越库作业一贯超出运营计划 10%
  • 使用 RSU™ 分拣机在一周中的处理量高达 380,000 套 – 是旧设施一周最大产量的两倍
  • 将员工的生产率提高 50%
  • 价格始终如一,提高了利润
  • 一年中按时交货率达 99.7%
  • 停机时间不到 1%

DSI Builds Shipshape DC for Leading Department Store Chain

Third-party logistics provider turns to W&H Systems and Intelligrated to boost material handling speed and efficiency for one of the nation’s largest department stores

Please note: Intelligrated acquired the North and South American operations of FKI Logistex® in June 2009.

In the summer of 2005, Jeffery Wolpov saw an opportunity. His third-party logistics (3PL) company, Distribution Solutions, Inc. (DSI; acquired by Port Logistics Group in 2008), was approached by a leading U.S. department store chain to help with container processing at its Newark, N.J. import facility.

Previously, a major logistics company handled the 3PL tasks for the chain’s containers of merchandise as they crossed the Atlantic Ocean and were unloaded for distribution to stores around the country. But the largely manual picking, fulfillment and shipping system made the process an inefficient and costly endeavor for all parties involved.

Wolpov and the DSI team took over operation of the facility for the short term and started making improvements. Wolpov knew that to handle the high volumes required by the store chain, they needed to automate. DSI turned to material handling integrator W&H Systems, Inc. to overhaul the antiquated distribution center and install a high-speed sortation system.

“As a 3PL, we needed a sufficient amount of volume or a large contract to justify the investment in automation,” explained Wolpov. With the promise of large volumes from the department store chain, DSI was well-positioned to build a modern DC that could handle the new business and take on other contracts in the future.

W&H Systems and Intelligrated Provide an Automated Solution

W&H Systems President Don Betman and his team gathered data, put together a five-year plan and began design, but they had a few obstacles to overcome along the way. The manual equipment had to be moved out, and the DC had to be relocated to a different building to accommodate the new machinery. In addition, the team needed to obtain the proper permits from the City of Newark.

With the pressure of receiving high volumes of merchandise, the store chain wanted assurance that the new automated distribution center was going to work, and fast. Working with supplier Intelligrated® (formerly FKI Logistex®), the W&H team provided peace of mind for the store chain and for DSI. The entire maneuver could have easily required up to 12 months of planning, design and installation, but W&H and Intelligrated completed it in just over five months.

“We got it done so quickly, I don’t think the department store chain had even decided which products were being shipped to the East and West coasts when the first cartons went through the system,” Betman said. The fast-paced project came in under budget, ahead of schedule, and exceeded expectations.

“The team comprised of DSI, W&H and Intelligrated staff worked harmoniously to get this done in time,” added Betman. “The most important thing Intelligrated did was secure us production time at a very busy time of the year for both Intelligrated and W&H. They stepped it up, and went over and above what was required.”

Following the rapid implementation, the lasting result has been a system that continues to improve distribution operations. “The reliability of the system has really exceeded our expectations,” Wolpov said. “The combination of proper planning, engineering, construction and maintenance has created an extremely reliable solution with less than one percent downtime.”

High-Speed Sortation Systems Provide Flexibility for Future Growth

At DSI’s new facility, a cross-docking system is used for cartons direct from containers and Garments On Hangers (GOH) packed flat into cartons — as well as other value-added services merchandise — and ready to ship directly to stores. The system also includes wave planning with both full-carton and break-pack picking for the replenishment process, where merchandise can be warehoused and sent to stores when needed.

DSI’s new system incorporates the unique RSU™ tilted tray sorter from W&H Systems, as well as Intelligrated’s high-speed sliding shoe sorter, which sorts merchandise for direct loading of outbound trucks destined for specific store distribution centers.

“One of the benefits of our high-speed sliding shoe sorters is that they can seamlessly integrate with other high-speed material handling equipment,” said Steve Maisch, Intelligrated integrator sales account manager. “Their compatibility with W&H Systems’ products meant that we were able to get this project up and running in short order, and get merchandise moving from the shipping containers to the store shelves rapidly and efficiently.”

As DSI contracts more business, it will be able to add up to six more receiving doors and 23 more shipping doors to increase capacity. The W&H sorter is also designed to handle the store chain’s products on one side of the sorter and other products on the other side to accommodate future growth.

The Cross-Dock Process

Full cartons that are packed and ready to be shipped to department stores are received at the distribution center and off-loaded directly from an import container onto a powered extendible conveyor. The conveyor can be extended into the import container to facilitate the unloading of cartons. There are six crossdock inbound receiving lines. Each carton passes under a scanner and is identified by the purchase order and SKU bar codes. The data from these bar codes are used to print and apply a new shipping label, which the DSI system will utilize for sortation processing. The cartons are then transported to the outbound system and sorted directly to their proper destinations.

Cartons containing merchandise that does not match the department store chain’s content requirements must be repacked. These cartons are then directed to a special area where each carton is opened and repacked to the department store’s requirements. The repacked cartons are placed on a takeaway conveyor and transported to the outbound system.

Garments on Hangers (GOH) are off-loaded at two receiving doors and staged on trolleys for packing into cartons. These garments are packed in cartons according to the department store chain’s specifications (style, color, size and quantity). Shipping labels are applied to full cartons and they are pushed onto a takeaway conveyor, where they pass through a semi-automatic sealing machine and are transported to the outbound system.

Replenishment Process

Individual Unit Picking Merchandise that is to be stored at the distribution center and shipped as individual units is received, unloaded and palletized according to SKU. Orders are generated for this merchandise by store department and carton. 139 order cartons are grouped and the items batch-picked for that group/wave.

At the beginning of each wave, cartons with storeorder bar codes attached are placed onto pack-out tables at the sort locations of the RSU™ sorter. A handheld short-range RF scan gun is used to scan each carton bar code and assign it to the RSU™ sort location ID bar code. Wave requirements are downloaded from the host to the sorter control system and the sort operation is now ready to begin.

The RSU™ sorter, developed by W&H Systems, consists of tilted carrying trays that travel on an enclosed track conveyor. The DSI system is configured as a 965-tray, single-level system. The sorter operates at a speed of 120 feet per minute, which presents approximately 60 trays per minute to each of the two induction areas. There are three manual inductions at each end of the sorter. The trays are presented to the product inductors at a five-degree angle for easy placement of items onto the sorter trays. The maximum capacity of this sorter with full tray utilization is 7,200 pieces per hour.

Items are loaded with the bar code facing up, or forward into trays, and are scanned by an overhead camera. The data contained in the product’s bar code is transmitted to the sorter control system and identified. It is then matched to the wave information previously downloaded, and assigned a specific sort location.

As the carrying trays reach their proper discharge point, the divert mechanism is fired by the W&H control system that releases the bottom edges of the RSU™ carrying trays. Gravity is utilized to allow the products to gently slide from the tilted trays into a chute where they accumulate.

Each side of the RSU™ sorter has a total of 142 sort locations: 139 order locations; one for items that have non-readable bar codes; one for not-identified items that the bar code can read but for which there is no requirement; and one jackpot location.

Operators pick the pieces out of the holding trays and pack them into the cartons on pack-out tables. When the carton is full, or the wave is complete, the operator pushes the carton onto a takeaway conveyor under the sorter. The cartons are then transported to an accumulation conveyor that feeds a tape-sealing machine. The tape-sealing machine then moves the cartons onto the outbound system.

Full-Carton Picking

Full cartons are stored at the distribution center and picked when they are required for an order. The full cartons are palletized and then brought to a staging area. Here they are labeled and placed onto a take-away conveyor and then transported to the outbound system.

Outbound “Cross-Dock” System

Cartons are merged into one line via a high-speed combiner from Intelligrated. The combiner directly feeds the shipping sorter. An Intelligrated high-speed sliding shoe sorter diverts cartons into 23 pitched gravity conveyor lines that are designed to accumulate cartons for either processing or truck loading. This high-speed sorter gently directs cartons to their proper shipping line at a capacity of up to 6,000 cartons per hour.

Of the 23 lines, 20 are utilized for direct loading of outbound trucks destined for specific store distribution centers, one line transports cartons to a repack area, one line to a lay down area where cartons are held for other distribution centers that are not actively being loaded, and one line to a no-read/jackpot area for bar codes that cannot be read. Cartons can exit off the end of the sorter if their destination line is full and recirculated back to sorter induction for another divert attempt.

Delivering the Results

DSI’s new DC has meant better efficiency through better time management, reduced labor and overall costs. Since the facility went into operation, Port Logistics Group has achieved the following results:

  • Record production numbers with zero overtime
  • Cross-dock operations routinely exceeding operational plans by 10 percent
  • Up to 380,000 units processed in a one-week timeframe with the RSU™ sorter – twice the one-week maximum of the old facility
  • Increased individual labor productivity by 50 percent
  • Consistent pricing and greater margins
  • Twelve-month on-time delivery performance of 99.7 percent
  • Less than one percent downtime